A RESOLUTION CLARIFYING WASHTENAW COUNTY'S POSITION ON A REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

WASHTENAW COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

November 7, 2012

WHEREAS, on September 21, 2011, the Washtenaw County Board of Commissioners (Board) adopted Resolution 11-0158 supporting the creation of a Regional Transportation Authority (RTA); and

WHEREAS, a "Southeast Michigan Regional Transit Authority Act" has been introduced, which includes Washtenaw County (County) in an RTA along with the counties of Wayne, Oakland, and Macomb, and the City of Detroit; and

WHEREAS, the Board believes that decisions regarding the use of Federal, State and Local Transportation Funding, designated for Washtenaw County, should be made by County entities; and

WHEREAS, the Board believes that any Washtenaw County based monies, which may be generated by a RTA, must be utilized to the benefit of County residents.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Resolution 11-0158 is hereby rescinded.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Washtenaw County Board of Commissioners opposes legislation which would include Washtenaw County in a Regional Transportation Authority, which does not protect:

- The ability of county entities to manage designated transportation funding.
- The right of county entities to independently mange a transit system.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Washtenaw County Board of Commissioners supports the concept of a Regional Transportation Authority to enhance interconnectivity among the communities of the southeast Michigan region, but feels that Washtenaw County and the voters thereof should determine when to join the Authority.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Washtenaw County Clerk transmit this resolution to Michigan Governor Richard Snyder, Senators Randy Richardville and Rebekah Warren, Representatives Jeff Irwin, Richard Olsen, Mark Ouimet, and David Rutledge, the Speaker of the House, the majority and minority leaders of the House and Senate, and House and Senate Transportation Committee chairs, and to the clerks of the counties of Macomb, Oakland, St. Clair, and Wayne, and the City of Detroit, for distribution to their elected officials.