Stories indexed with the term ‘public art commission’

Art Money Back to Original Funds: Initial OK

Additional money set aside under the city of Ann Arbor’s Percent for Art program in previous years could eventually be returned to the money’s funds of origin, based on a first step the city council has taken. At its Feb. 3, 2014 meeting, the council gave initial approval to an amendment of the city’s public art ordinance that would allow the eventual return of art money to funds like the sanitary sewer fund, the stormwater fund, and the street millage fund.

Margie Teall (Ward 4) cast the sole vote of dissent on the ordinance amendment.

In other action related to public art, the council rejected approval of a six-month contract extension for Ann Arbor’s part-time public art administrator, Aaron Seagraves. The proposed … [Full Story]

Kotarski Nominated for Art Commission

At the Ann Arbor city council’s Dec. 19, 2011 meeting, mayor John Hieftje nominated John Kotarski to replace Margaret Parker on the Ann Arbor public art commission (AAPAC). Kotarski has been a media consultant who previously worked for the Mount Clemens Schools.

Parker served for several years on the commission on art in public places (CAPP), the precursor to AAPAC. She was last re-appointed to AAPAC on June 15, 2009 for a three-year term, which would have ended Dec. 31, 2012. Parker served as chair of AAPAC from the enactment of the city’s Percent for Art ordinance in 2007 until the end of 2010. Marsha Chamberlin agreed to assume responsibility as chair in April this year.

This brief was filed from the city council’s chambers on the second floor of city hall, located at 301 E. Huron. A more detailed report will follow: [link] [Full Story]