AAPS Board Elections To Be Uncontested

Barring a write-in candidacy, the five incumbents running for the Ann Arbor Public Schools Board Education will retain their seats.  As of today’s 4:00 p.m. filing deadline, no other candidates had filed petitions for any of the five open positions on the district’s board.  Trustee Susan Baskett and board treasurer Christine Stead have filed to run for the two regular four-year terms.  Board president Deb Mexicotte is running for the one two-year term.  And, trustees Simone Lightfoot and Andy Thomas are running for the two one-year terms.

The three partial terms are due to three mid-term resignations this past school year.  Lightfoot, Stead, and Thomas were appointed by the current board to serve in those positions until the next regular school board elections.  The school board voted this winter to move its regular elections from May to November as a cost-saving measure.