Six to Vie for Two Seats on School Board

Today, Aug. 16, marked the filing deadline to appear on the ballot as an Ann Arbor Public Schools board of trustees candidate in the Nov. 8, 2011 election. Two four-year terms, beginning January 1, 2012 and ending December 31, 2015, are up for election this year.

The two seats are currently held by Simone Lightfoot and Andy Thomas – who are both running for re-election, Washtenaw County clerk staff confirmed today.

Challenging the incumbents are: Albert Howard, Ahmar Iqbal, Patrick Leonard, and Larry Murphy. Voters will be able to select up to two out of the field of six, with the top two winning election to the board. Thomas, Murphy and Iqbal all attended an information session held for prospective candidates in June.

Lightfoot and Thomas were each initially appointed to the board to fill vacancies (in December 2009 and May 2010, respectively). They each retained their seats in an uncontested election in November of 2010, and are currently serving one-year terms expiring at the end of this year.

All candidates are invited to a meeting on Tuesday, Aug. 23, at 5:30 p.m. at the Balas Administration building in order to meet with administrators to learn about the district.

Section: Civic News Ticker

The following terms describe the content of this article. Click on a term to see all articles described with that term: , ,