County Honors Outgoing Commissioners

At its last meeting of the year, Washtenaw County commissioners on Dec. 5 recognized the service of four outgoing members, as well as the retiring county water resources commissioner.

The board gave resolutions of appreciation to Democrats Barbara Bergman and Leah Gunn, who represent Ann Arbor districts and did not seek re-election, as well as Democrat Wes Prater and Republican Rob Turner, who were defeated in the Nov. 6 general election. Prater, a York Township resident, currently represents District 4. Due to redistricting that took effect during this election cycle, he faced fellow incumbent Alicia Ping in the new District 3 – an election that Ping, a Republican, won. Turner, who lives in Chelsea and represents District 1, was defeated on Nov. 6 by Democrat Kent Martinez-Kratz.

Bergman was first elected in 1994 2002, while Gunn’s tenure dates back to 1996. Gunn also serves as chair of the Ann Arbor Downtown Development Authority, an appointed position. Bergman will continue serving on the board of the Washtenaw Community Health Organization.

The new nine-member county board will take office in January 2013.

Also recognized on Dec. 5 was Democrat Janis Bobrin, the county water resources commissioner who has served in that role since she was first elected in 1988. She also decided not to run for re-election this year and endorsed fellow Democrat Evan Pratt, who won the Nov. 6 election for that position.

A reception was held for the outgoing commissioners prior to the start of the Dec. 5 meeting.

This brief was filed from the boardroom of the county administration building at 220 N. Main in Ann Arbor. A more detailed report will follow: [link]