Councilmembers Seek Re-Election in Ann Arbor

According to the city clerk’s office, as of the morning of March 15, 2011, four of five incumbent Ann Arbor city councilmembers have taken out petitions to seek re-election as representatives of their wards: Sabra Briere (Ward 1); Stephen Rapundalo (Ward 2); Stephen Kunselman (Ward 3); and Mike Anglin (Ward 5).

Marcia Higgins (Ward 4) has not yet taken out petitions. Kunselman has already returned his petitions with the minimum 100 signatures.

In addition to the mayor, the city council has 10 members, two from each of the city’s five wards. Councilmembers and the mayor serve two-year terms. One of the two council seats in each ward is open for election each year. Mayor John Hieftje was re-elected in November 2010, so no mayoral election will take place this year.

The deadline for filing as a partisan city council candidate for the Aug. 2, 2011 primary election is May 10, 2011 at 4 p.m. Independent candidates have until Aug. 15, 2011 at 5 p.m.