Derezinski Stays on Planning Commission

Tony Derezinski will stay on the Ann Arbor planning commission at least through June of 2013 as a result of his confirmation by the city council at its Nov. 8, 2012 meeting. Derezinski’s last meeting as a city councilmember was Nov. 8, and up to that point he had served by annual appointment as the council’s representative to the planning commission. But because he did not prevail in his August Democratic primary race in Ward 2, he could not continue to serve on the planning commission in that capacity. Instead, it’s expected that Sabra Briere (Ward 1) will serve in that role. The confirmation by the council came over the dissent of Jane Lumm (Ward 2), who did not feel that it’s appropriate for former councilmembers to serve on the planning commission.

Because a vacancy of the commission is opening up on the planning commission – due to the resignation of Evan Pratt, who won a new position for himself as Washtenaw County water resources commissioner in the Nov. 6 election – Derezinski was appointed by the council to fill a citizen position on the commission.

Derezinski, along with Susan Baskett, had been nominated at the council’s Oct. 15 meeting to serve as a board member for the recently incorporated Act 196 transit authority. But in light of the council’s action to opt out of the transit authority at its Nov. 8 meeting, the council won’t be acting on those nominations.

Sally Petersen, who won the August primary against Derezinski, was unopposed in the Nov. 6 general election. Petersen will join Lumm as a Ward 2 representative on the council when she is ceremonially sworn in on Nov. 19.

This brief was filed from the city council’s chambers on the second floor of city hall, located at 301 E. Huron. A more detailed report will follow: [link]