Ann Arbor Council Decides Committees

The internal committees of the Ann Arbor city council – as well as the council’s appointments to other bodies – were decided at the council’s Dec. 3, 2012 meeting. It was the second meeting of the new edition of the council, following the Nov. 6 elections. The departure of Tony Derezinski, Sandi Smith and Carsten Hohnke from the council meant that some changes had to be made.

The budget committee saw no changes from last year: Mike Anglin, Sabra Briere, Marcia Higgins, Jane Lumm, and Christopher Taylor.

Added to the audit committee to replace Sandi Smith and Carsten Hohnke, as well as Sabra Briere, were Chuck Warpehoski, Sumi Kailasapathy, and Sally Petersen. Other members of the audit committee are Stephen Kunselman and Margie Teall.

Added to the council administration committee to replace Tony Derezinski was Sally Petersen. Other members of that committee are Marcia Higgins, Margie Teall, Christopher Taylor, and John Hieftje.

Added to the labor committee to replace Sandi Smith was Stephen Kunselman. Other members of that committee are John Hieftje, Jane Lumm, Marcia Higgins and Margie Teall.

Added to the council rules committee to replace Sandi Smith was John Hieftje. Other members of that committee are Sabra Briere, Marcia Higgins, Stephen Kunselman, and Christopher Taylor.

Tony Derezinski had served as the council appointee to the city planning commission, a responsibility that will now be taken over by Sabra Briere.

Jane Lumm became the council’s appointee to the insurance board of review, replacing Derezinski. Lumm will also fill the position of liquor license hearing officer. Taking Derezinski’s spot on the liquor license review board will be Sumi Kailasapathy.

Sandi Smith’s slot on the housing and human services advisory board will be filled by Sabra Briere. That body has been tasked by the council – through a resolution passed at the council’s Nov. 19, 2012 meeting – to provide a recommendation on the city’s living wage ordinance. The council considered, but postponed until February 2013, a change to the living wage that would exempt nonprofits that contract with the city to provide human services.

Chuck Warpehoski replaces Carsten Hohnke on the environmental commission, while Christopher Taylor replaces Hohnke on the greenbelt advisory commission. [Google Spreadsheet with 2012 and 2013 committee appointments]

At its Dec. 3 meeting, the council also adopted its rules and meeting calendar for the coming year. The meeting schedule adhered to the same pattern: first and third Mondays of the month, except for holidays, when the meeting is held on Tuesdays. And when an election is held on a Tuesday after first Monday of the month, that meeting is moved to Thursday.

This brief was filed from the city council’s chambers on the second floor of city hall, located at 301 E. Huron. A more detailed report will follow: [link]