Stories indexed with the term ‘ballot committee’

Committee to Oppose AAATA Millage

Opposing a new 0.7 mill transportation tax is a committee that filed paperwork with the Washtenaw County clerk’s election division on Feb. 21, 2014. [.pdf of ballot committee paperwork]

The committee, which is called “Better Transit Now,” filed its paperwork the day after the Ann Arbor Area Transportation Authority board voted to place the tax on the May 6, 2014 ballot. Listed on the paperwork as the treasurer of the group is Libby Hunter. The filing paperwork indicates that the group intends to seek a reporting waiver, which is for groups that don’t expect to spend more than $1,000.

Deciding the issue will be voters in the AAATA’s three-jurisdictional area: the city of Ann Arbor, the city of Ypsilanti and Ypsilanti … [Full Story]