City’s Sustainability Framework Disseminated

Ann Arbor’s sustainability framework – an ambitious project that began in early 2011 – will be distributed to neighboring jurisdictions as the next step toward incorporating these goals into the city’s master plan. At its Sept. 18, 2012 meeting, the Ann Arbor planning commission recommended that the city council take this action. The commission had previously recommended approval of the 16 overarching sustainability goals, which are organized into four categories: resource management; land use and access; climate and energy; and community. [.pdf of sustainability document]

State law requires that changes to a community’s master plan must be communicated to adjacent jurisdications and other stakeholders to allow the opportunity for feedback. The sustainability framework will be distributed to these entities: the planning commissions of Ann Arbor Township, Scio Township, Lodi Township and Pittsfield Township; the Barton Hills Village long-range planning committee; the Washtenaw County board of commissioners; the Southeast Michigan Council of Governments (SEMCOG); DTE Energy; Norfolk-Southern Railroad; the Ann Arbor Transportation Authority; the University of Michigan; and the Ann Arbor Public Schools board of education.

The planning commission will hold a public hearing – likely at one of its December 2012 meetings – for additional feedback. Entities more typically provide their input in written form.

Additional background on the Ann Arbor sustainability initiative is on the city’s website. See also Chronicle coverage: “Building a Sustainable Ann Arbor,” “Sustaining Ann Arbor’s Environmental Quality,” “Land Use, Transit Factor Into Sustainability,“ and “Final Forum: What Sustains Community?

This brief was filed from the second floor council chambers at city hall, where the planning commission holds its meetings. A more detailed report will follow: [link]