AAPS Board Elects Officers for 2013

Deb Mexicotte has again been elected president of the Ann Arbor Public School board of education. The vote came at the board’s Jan. 16, 2013 organizational meeting. She was unopposed for the position and was unanimously elected. This is Mexicotte’s fourth year as president. She had announced her intention to seek the leadership position at the Dec. 12, 2012 meeting of the board’s committee of the whole.

Other board positions were also filled: vice president,  Christine Stead; secretary, Andy Thomas; and treasurer, Glenn Nelson. Mexicotte reappointed Simone Lightfoot as parliamentarian.

The length of term for the board officer positions is a year – from the board’s organizational meeting to the following year’s board organizational meeting, which is always the first meeting of the year.

This brief was filed from the board room of the Ann Arbor District Library in downtown Ann Arbor at Fifth and William. A more detailed report of the meeting will follow: [link]